TracFone “Customer Service:” Re-post from March 18,2010

I have been a subscriber to TracFone prepaid cellular phone service for five years with no problems. On Sunday last (14 March), I realized that I had allowed the minutes to expire (the expiration date was the 13th). First I tried to reactivate the phone on TracFone’s website, to no avail. I called their “Customer Service” number and after being on hold for NEARLY AN HOUR I finally got a person whose first language was obviously not English because every time she turned to speak to her co-worker they spoke what sounded like Chinese. I had to give her my information THREE TIMES only to be told that I could not purchase airtime with a credit card and that it would take them 48 hours to fix the problem and to call back. So I did.

48 hours later I call back only to discover that I CANNOT PURCHASE AIRTIME OVER THE PHONE, BUT MUST GO TO THE STORE AND BUY AN AIRTIME CARD. Now I not only have AIDS, but at the moment I have no car and I live three miles from the nearest store so the task of buying the card fell to my husband.

Call Number Three, Day Four: I call with the Airtime Card PIN code and after spending ANOTHER HOUR ON THE PHONE WITH THESE MORONS I AM TOLD TO CALL BACK IN 24 HOURS BECAUSE THERE IS ANOTHER ERROR THAT HAS TO BE FIXED.

The irony here is that I actually allowed the phone to expire by mistake once before; the only consequence that time was that I ended up with a different phone number; otherwise reactivating the phone took only about fifteen minutes.

They have 24 hours to give me satisfaction or this blog gets copy/pasted on Facebook and wherever else I can find to put it.

Leave a Reply

