Sandra Booker: Singer, Songwriter, Homophobic Bigot.

It has been a little over a month since the monumental SCOTUS decision extending marriage equality across the land.  I didn’t post about it at the time because, well, to be honest, I was frankly a bit shell shocked that we had finally won.

I am fifty-two years old.  When I was a kid coming of age in the Seventies and realizing that I was attracted to men, the idea that I would ever be married was sort of switched off.  Rather like a light.  And I have been living in the semi-darkness of second class citizenship ever since.  It has not stopped me from loving a few men and marrying two of them.

The first marriage was I suppose a de facto marriage because it took place long before legalization was even on the horizon.  It came to an end after fifteen years.  That’s longer than a good many of my high school friends’ first marriages.  It was a rocky relationship, and the ending was ugly in the extreme, but I’ve seen marriages that were far worse last even longer.

By the time I met the man who is now my legal husband, Canada had had civil marriage equality for some years, so we got married in a Unitarian church in 2002 before it was even legal.  And of course, when New York legalized it in 2011, we were at City Hall a couple of days after the law went into effect.

Anyway, now we are legally married, and that status will travel with us anywhere in the United States.  I am still a little overwhelmed that I have lived to see this day.

Then something happened to me today on Facebook that shocked me and made me wonder about equality.

Someone had posted a story from a satire website that claimed a group was seeking to put President Obama’s face on Mount Rushmore.  Now, perhaps I misread the comments, but this one woman by the name of Sandra Booker seemed to be taking the story seriously so I posted a link to an article stating that the source was a satire website.

Booker went ballistic on me and started calling me every filthy name she could dream up.  She started with QUEEN, moved on to COCKSUCKER, called me FAGGOT at least three times and BITCH more times than I could count.  I don’t take these things lightly so I was trying to give it back to her without sinking to her level, but I finally snapped.  Booker happens to be Black, so I decided to see how she would react if I used a racial slur on her.  Not wanting to put it on the thread where everyone could see it, I sent it in a private message (No, it was NOT the N word, but it was an uncomplimentary comment that referenced her race).

Admittedly, not the nicest thing I have ever done, but she was so free with the nasty anti-gay remarks that she aroused my curiosity:  what would this woman do with an attack on her based on race?

She.  Went.  NUTS.

Suddenly I was a “bigot” and she took a screen shot of what I had sent her and posted it to the thread.  She then went on the attack in private message and told me to get married “somewhere where God does not hate you.”  I replied that I was married, and she informed me that I was NOT married in the eyes of God and that it was against nature and a whole shitload of other crap that isn’t even worth repeating.  Then she blocked me.  Which to be frank was a relief.

I Googled her and I discovered that she is a singer who apparently is known for a tribute show to Sarah Vaughan.  I listened to one of her performances on YouTube and I did not think much of it.  But apparently this woman feels that being a minor name in the entertainment industry (an industry in which I worked years ago) gives her license to abuse anyone she feels like abusing.

I suppose I am rambling.  But if you happen to see this, Sandra Booker, let me inform you that I shall make sure anyone who mentions your name to me hears the horrible things you said to me.

All this talk about equality and then this happens…I think I have a headache.  Where the hell did I put the aspirin?

 

2 Responses to “Sandra Booker: Singer, Songwriter, Homophobic Bigot.”

  1. I too ran in to Ms. Booker on facebook and she was a total bitch. My crime you might ask, was that I had the temerity to ask her why she was so angry at Bernie Sanders. This was around the time that BLM took over Bernie’s speech in Washington or somewhere. She would make nasty comments and it piqued my interest to see why she was so pissed. Her response…..Who the Fuck are you and why do care. blah blah then ends it with “Roaches have better manners”. I shot back I don’t give a FUCK about her personally but was just asking a question, I then told her “Up Yours”. She and all her friends went ballistic and called me a cunt. Never in my life has anyone ever pissed me off or upset me that bad. She takes the cake. She is a BIG bigot and has been known to tell some Jewish guy that Jews should b e cleaning ovens in Poland. Terrible person. I lost a facebook friend over this,,,,only he indicated that it was I being a redneck.. Really? She gets a pass because she’s an angry black woman/bitch. Despicable

    • As far as I can determine, Ms Booker is laboring under the misconception that the simple fact of her being Black gives her carte blanche to abuse people in any way she sees fit. It seems to be less about her being a woman because when it comes to abuse she is an equal opportunity bitch; she’ll abuse a woman just as easily as she will a man and she will use the most foul language imaginable but if you turn it around and use the same language on her she plays the “you’re a racist/bigot” card.

      And she’s a hypocrite too; she told me that I was not really married in the sight of God but in one of her YouTube videos where she is addressing some City Council she claims to be an atheist. What an atheist was doing telling ME about God is quite beyond me.

Leave a Reply

